My Sub-Par Experience In The Maternity Ward

They withheld my discharge papers!

Allison Kessler
7 min readJan 10, 2019

If anyone’s seen Outlander where Jamie’s sister gives birth and the next day she jumps on her horse to go looking for the kidnapped men, this is exactly my approach to life, my philosophy and how I tackle challenges.

I fully expected to walk into the hospital, give birth quickly and smoothly to my baby boy (my second child) and walk out of the hospital within 24 hours to go home to recover in more comfortable settings.

The hospital had other ideas.

I should preempt this by saying I’m 42 years old and I’ve already given birth and have a healthy 13-year-old daughter. I should also qualify that I am merely recounting my own opinions and expectations and do not project these things on others. All women have their own unique needs and perceptions. My area of concern in sharing this post is that women are not being allowed or encouraged to trust their intuition, do what feels right to them, and are being forced to conform to strict societal pressures.

Let’s start from the beginning. At around 2 pm on Monday August 14, 2017, I checked into the Hospital with mild contractions; my water that had broken earlier that morning. I was greeted by welcoming nurses and everyone was very friendly, happy, and positive. The energy…

--

--