Smoking isn’t just smoking

It’s a way to keep your vibration down

Allison Kessler
6 min readNov 15, 2019

In my low period after my marriage fell apart in 2009, I went through a string of guys… most of them smokers.

I didn’t smoke. I thought it was just a coincidence that the guys I was attracted to all smoked. Now I’m exploring the idea that there’s more to it than just that.

I currently have been with the same man for 7+ years and we miraculously have a 2-year-old son — something we both wanted more than anything else in this world. We share quite a bond.

And yet.

He’s smoked the entire time I’ve been with him. He started smoking when he was 13 and comes from a chain-smoking family. It’s all he’s known and is a pillar in his existence. Smoking is a way for him to relieve stress, have time to himself, take a break from the world, hang out with other smokers. I mean, it’s a big deal to him.

When we first got together, I didn’t mind the smoking.

However, I had a spiritual awakening in 2013 and have been working really hard over the last 6 years to grow spiritually… in essence, raise my vibration. This is a good thing. Except the smoking has become a contentious issue in our relationship. I can’t stand being around it. I can’t stand the smell of it, the lingering poisons circulating in…

--

--